New Doctor Who Series 7 Episode Details and other Random Who-ness

By Courtney Rowan

And now back to our regularly scheduled program…

There’s been a ton of news since my last Doctor Who post, so let’s get to it, eh? Possible *SPOILERS* ahead, so if you truly don’t want to know anything about the upcoming series, skip this post!

So where to start… when last we left our heroes, we found out that Arthur Weasley Mark Williams will be on an episode this year. I can now confirm it will be Episode Two, for which the writer is Chris Chibnall. This episode will also star Rupert Graves, who you will most likely recognize from Sherlock on which he plays DI Lestrade.  It will be part set in Ancient Egypt and features Queen Nefertiti, Rory’s dad, and robots. This episode, According to Doctor Who Magazine, will have one of the biggest sets ever constructed for the show.

Episode One

This will be a Dalek story, but with a bit of a spin, apparently.  It will be featuring Daleks from many different eras of the show. Check out the pic below tweeted from Steven Moffat.

Moffat says the first episode will be a bit like the movie Die Hard and teased the title as [Spoiler] of the [Spoilers]. Most likely it will be “[Something] of the Daleks” given the title tradition and the fact they feature. Part-set in Ancient China with The Doctor is given a task to complete by the Chinese Emperor. According to Caroline Skinner, it will feature “Every Dalek known to man.”

Episode Three

Okay, this episode is already my fave because it guest stars Farscape alum, Ben Browder!! (severe fangirl attack.)  On top of that, the episode writer is Toby Whitehouse. This is the ‘gunslinger’ episode featured heavily in the Series 7 trailer released. Whithouse spoke to BBC America about this episode:

“My episode is in a genre I’ve never written before — frankly, no one has written in that genre for quite a while now. But I absolutely love it. Steven gives me a one-line pitch, and then I’ll go away and put together a story and so on. And he gave me a great one-line pitch for this, so I’m really excited about it. Doctor Who is always a joy to write. It never gets boring, it never gets dull, it never gets routine. It’s an incredibly difficult show to write because it’s remarkably complex, but it also has to have such momentum and pace. And within that there has to be room for character and humour and so on. It’s always a huge challenge but always extraordinary fun. That’s why I keep going back.”

Excited?? Yeah, a little.

Episode Four

Not really much to discuss here except that it is written by Chris Chibnall as well.

Episode Five

This is the one… the final goodbye for Amy and Rory. I know I’m going to cry, two reasons; first I’m going to miss these companions immensely and second – the Weeping Angels scare the shit out of me. Yes, Weeping Angels will be back for the parting of the Ponds.  Also, they were recently spotted filming in a Welsh graveyard were the main three characters and Alex Kingston once more reprising her role as River Song.  Oh, and the writer – Steven Moffat, who has made this statement, “Not everybody gets out alive – and I mean it this time!” Calling it now – Amy is out.  I’m mentally preparing and stocking up on tissues for this one already.  Check out this pic below:

In terms of other casting news for this episode, Mike McShane has revealed, via his Twitter account, that’s he currently filming Doctor Who and that he’s appearing in the fifth episode. His role is unconfirmed.

Episode Six – The Christmas Special

And here is where we get our new companion (pictured below). Welcome, Jenna-Louise Coleman! This episode is also written by Steven Moffat, who says this about this new time traveler, “The Doctor is going to meet someone very new in the very last place he could ever have expected…” I’m excited for the change, but she has huge shoes to fill in place of the Ponds.

Random Who-ness

A couple last things to share. So, driving home from work yesterday I see this in front of me:

What? What? WHAT?! This cannot be a coincidence, although I’m surprised that the 2 of the 100 Whovians in the States live somewhere near me. (I thought the “My other car is a TARDIS’ bumper sticker on my car was already Whovian enough.) I think I now need to upgrade my Whovian Status with an “AL0NS-Y” plate.

Last thing I want to share is actually a video my 10 year old Whovian son found on YouTube.  I loved Rose, I loved 10 and I love 11. I just thought this was a beautiful way to remind the fans that nothing is ever forgotten in the Whoniverse. So, for all you shippers out there – enjoy this one!

So what do you think of how Series 7 is shaping up so far? I’m curious for your opinions in the comments!!

Sources: Doctor Who TV, SFX and Den Of Geek

One thought on “New Doctor Who Series 7 Episode Details and other Random Who-ness

  1. Pingback: Doctor Who Series 7, Episode 1 to premiere at MGEITF this August « I'm That Geek

Leave a Reply

