New Star Wars deleted scene! (and more)

By Courtney Rowan

It’s Friday, fanboys and fangirls, and you know what that means, right?  Time to see what cool news dropped this week. Perhaps the coolest was the new Star Wars deleted scene shared at Celebration V, at which George Lucas had Mark Hamill introduce the clip.  Read on to see the clip (if you haven’t already) and more news in geekdom…

Star Wars Deleted Scene

So, Celebration V (the seventh Celebration of the Star Wars saga, the fifth in the United States), kicked off this week and finally gave us some new footage of Star Wars.  It’s pretty epic – a never-before-screened scene cut from Return of the Jedi in which Darth Vader tempts Luke Skywalker to join the dark side, paired with footage of Luke constructing/activating his green lightsaber and officially becoming a Jedi Knight. Awesomeness.

Eureka News – STAN LEE!!

Guess who’s coming to America’s smartest little town… STAN LEE!  Yes, that’s right, Lee has been tapped to guest star on Eureka and has been shooting his work this week.  He’s been tweeting updates from the set and I seriously cannot wait to see this episode.  No word yet on what he will play in the clever show. Follow Mr. Lee on twitter @TheRealStanLee. We also learned this week that Ming Na has will be guest starring on Eureka as well. You’ve recently seen Na on SGU. She will reportedly play Senator Alice Wen, who has come to deal with a sensitive issue at Global Dynamics. She also might make multiple appearances. Check out a sneak peek of tonight’s Eureka:

Stoned – Sneak Peek – Eureka.

PS.  Anyone else picking up on Fargo’s Terminator references each week??!!  LOVE it. 

SHARKTOPUS!!

Okay, speaking of SyFy, I can’t go any further without mentioned this gem.  I don’t know if it will come close to Mega Shark Vs Giant Octopus, but with Roger Corman and Eric Roberts involved, it will sure as hell be fun.  Check out the trailer for this classic to be:

Warehouse 13

Another solid episode this week from the Warehouse gang.  Some killer girl power going on and t he return of H.G. Wells.  I’m not sure if I buy Myka accepting HG so easily, but it did work well for the episode.  The plotline about her daughter kind of struck me, I think I did see some genuine sadness about not being able to see her anymore.  Her motives are definitely her own and Myka must realize this.  The grappling gun was a nice touch at the end, but I’m not sure if that was an artifact or just a cool invention.  Does it have any ‘powers’ or is it just cool?  Isn’t that what defines an artifact, the powers?? I do hope we see much more of her in the future.  

Is anyone else having as much fun as I am about guessing Claudia’s hair streak color each week.  I think it’s a great subtle touch to her character as well as clever on the writer’s side.  Pete and Artie were awesome this week.  First off, I love that they finally admitted that there are artifacts being played with at the Warehouse.  I almost fell off the couch when I saw the Tim Leary glasses reappear and Artie’s new look through them.  I think Pete’s comedy is absolutely genius.  A fact that played into how well acted “Around The Bend” was as we see Pete in a serious tone, which kind of freaked me out.  Lindsay Wagner was cool and the appendix gag of growing back each year was pretty funny.  Especially since he’s using Barnum’s Top to do it.  I’m glad they have a little love interest for Artie (who is the Walrus??). 

Here’s a sneak peek of  nest week’s Warehouse 13 – “Merge With Caution” :

Merge with Caution – Sneak Peek – Warehouse 13.

Smallville

Some news from the world of Clark Kent is the announcement of the baddies in season 10.  At Comic Con this year, it was confirmed that Darkseid and the evil New Gods of Apokolips would feature as some of season ten’s villains. While Darkseid has yet to be cast, some of his entourage have!  Actor Steve Byers for you.  He’ll be Desaad, Darkseid’s master torturer who is often depicted in the comics wearing a cloak.  

According to Kryptonsite, Michael Daingerfield will begin portraying Gordon Godfrey in the third episode of the upcoming season. “The episode is entitled ‘Supergirl’ and also features the previously announced return of Laura Vandervoort as Kara.” Godfrey, sometimes called Glorious Godfrey, appeared in comics from the 70’s with red hair. A member of the Apokoliptian Gods, he enjoys the power of persuasion. I’m super stoked for this final chapter.

Fall TV Lineup Announced!

It’s getting to be that time again.  I’m excited, I can’t lie.  I’m kind of over summer and ready for the fall and of course that means the return of Fall TV.  Since LOST is over and Flashforward was cancelled and 24 is done, I’m looking for something new to fill the emptiness.  So far the show I’m most intrigued by is The Event.  The trailers look pretty good so I’m hoping it lives up to my expectations.  Shows I’m most excited about returning are Fringe, Smallville, SGU and Chuck.  Check out all the full lineup from Fancast.com here:

http://www.fancast.com/blogs/2010/tv-news/fall-tv-premiere-dates-mark-your-calendar/

Doctor Who

Since I have nothing exciting to share about The Doctor, I’ll leave you with this fun montage of fun stuff from “The Eleventh Hour”:

So that’s all for me  this week.  What’s your thoughts on the Fall TV shows?  How about Stan Lee on Eureka?  Comment your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

