SyFy Cancels Eureka

By Courtney Rowan

They went and done it again… Took a beloved fan favorite show and pulled the plug for the only reason I can tell, they were bored. After 2012, we will have to say our final goodbye to America’s Smartest Little Town. 

Only three words really come to mind.. WTF!  A spokesperson for SyFy had this to say in an official statement:

After painstaking consideration, we have had to make the difficult business decision to not order a season six of Eureka. But Eureka is not over yet. There is a new holiday episode this December and 12 stellar episodes set to debut next year, marking its fifth season and six memorable years on Syfy. The 2012 episodes are some of the best we’ve seen, and will bring this great series to a satisfying end. We are very grateful to Bruce Miller and Jaime Paglia, their team of incredible writers, and an amazing cast and crew who have consistently delivered a series we continue to be very proud of. We thank the fans for their support of this show and know they will enjoy its final season in 2012.

What the spokesperson failed to leave out was a little detail about just renewing the show LAST WEEK for season six, only to have it yanked out from under them today.  I mean, that’s seriously just frakkin’ wrong.  Take a look at the Twitter feeds on some of the show’s folk to feel their surprise.   To quote Colin Ferguson (@colinferg), ” BOOM”.  Good job, SyFy. Once again.

But haven’t we been here before, fanboys and fangirls?  Let’s take a quick painful trip down recent ‘SyFy Cancels…’ memory lane…

Syfy Cancels Stargate Universe

I guess I shouldn’t be so mad about this one since they did actually give us two seasons, BUT, just when the writing was stronger than ever and you had absolutely fallen in love with the characters, they can it.  Look, I know it wasn’t like the traditional Stargate franchises, but in lies the beauty (IMHO).  Communication stones, bastard aliens out to kill (we think?), dreaded mindless drones set to destroy and characters you loved to hate and hated to love – all the makings of a classic scifi series.  Again, BOOM.  Oh, but I can think of another one…

SyFy Cancels Caprica

OK, so I know that there was definitely a niche audience for this show at first, BUT (notice  a pattern here),   the writing proved it was so much more than that.  Battlestar fans may or may not have clung to the show, but the writing was so good, that anyone could lock on and enjoy.  The nuanced characters, the film noir look and feel despite the technologically enhanced society, the overall intrigue around the ultimate demise of the human race.. this was brilliant stuff, people!  Well, they rushed that story line, huh?  Now we’re just left with more and more questions about our ‘ancestors’.  Granted, the ratings were pretty small, but being as that they are SyFy, what do you want? SGU lasted two seasons on a million per show, this was averaging around that.  Now we’ll never really know how Cylons came to be so human-like.  (One minute epilogues on series finales do not count.)

Why am I so mad?

I don’t know why I’m so pissed or surprised for that matter, I mean look at the track record.  I think I’m just hurt.  Do you hear that, Syfy? You hurt me… again!  I’m starting to feel like an unwanted fan, or worse yet a used girlfriend.  I mean you go and support an outing at Comic Con, you promote the hell out of SyFy summers and it’s all a big damn tease!  Not to mention a heaping scoop of douchebagery.  Then again,  I’ve got Being Human, which I’m trying not get attached to.  Getting dumped sucks.

Of course, there’s always wrestling, right?  Right, SyFy?  Oh, bloody hell.

3 thoughts on “SyFy Cancels Eureka

  1. I am mad because it happens too often! I have two blogs about how upset they made me. Let them know.

  2. Oh, I have… tweeted at them, emailed them, called them out on their Facebook page. Never acknowledged. Figures. It’s not like I’m the only one vocal either, they just won’t address it directly.

  3. Pingback: I'm That Geek | Why You Should be Watching Syfy’s Defiance

Leave a Reply

