Doctor Who “Let’s Kill Hitler” Returns tonight! Are you watching?

By Courtney Rowan

Happy return of Doctor Who Day, fanboys and fangirls!

Today is the day, finally, that The Doctor returns with his next exciting adventure.   Living on the east coast, right outside of Philly, we’ve got quite the excitement going already with Hurricane Irene on her way to destroy us.  I’m sincerly hoping our power outlasts the big girl so we can watch in real time tonight.  I mean, it will be DVR’d anyways, but I don’t want to wait to watch because I’ve been stripped of power for days!

In anticipation for tonight’s return, I’ve consulted with my 9 year old son to get a list of top 3 reasons to be watching.  It’s always so cool to see The Doctor through a child’s eyes and discover they totally get it because you’ve got the same reasons, by the way.  I believe The 4th Doctor (my Doctor) said,

“What’s the point of growing up if you can’t be childish sometimes?”

So, without further delay, here’s my top 3 reasons you should be watching tonight… and always.

1. The Doctor is Cool.

Yes, this is so basic, but incredibly true.  With his affection for bowties and his dare to be different and don’t care attitude, he exudes awesomeness.  And it’s not just the eleventh that has been this cool, but let’s just focus there for a moment.  In “The End of Time” when he is still discovering who he is, and we were trying to figure out who he was, he steps through David Tennant’s face to show the new Who.  Wow. Moment right there.  He is sincere and jokey at the same time.  He does dark so well. I may venture to say I even see a bit of Troughton in him. I believe that Troughton was once told to envision The Doctor as a ‘cosmic hobo’ and I feel that in Mr. Smith.. “OK, what have you got for me this time?”   He is brilliant and everyone wants to be him.  Isn’t that the definition of cool?

2. The Doctor’s Speeches  

Okay, there’s so many quotes/speeches I could go to here, but again focusing on the 11th Doctor, you’ve got to go to the Pandorica Stonehenge Speech,

Hello, Stonehenge! Who takes the Pandorica takes the Universe! But, bad news everyone, ’cause guess who! Ha! Except, you lot, you’re all whizzing about, it’s really very distracting. Could you all just stay still a minute because I am talking!  Now, the question for the hour is, “Who’s got the Pandorica?” Answer: I do. Next question: “Who’s coming to take it from me?” Come on, look at me! No plan, no backup, no weapons worth a damn, oh, and something else: I don’t have anything to lose! So, if you’re sitting up there in your silly little space ships with all your silly little guns, and you’ve got any plans on taking the Pandorica tonight, just remember who’s standing in your way! Remember every black day I ever stopped you, and then, *and then*, do the smart thing!  Let somebody else try first.

And then there’s this one from “The Time of Angels”,

“I’m supposed to climb in after it with a screwdriver and a torch, and assuming I survive the radiation long enough and assuming the ship doesn’t explode in my face, do something incredibly clever which I haven’t actually thought of yet.  That’s my day, that’s what I’m up to. Any questions?”

No, no questions… whew!  Yeah, I love it.

3. The Tardis – The Doctor’s Wife

Aghhh… The TARDIS.  Time And Relative Dimension In Space.  Even the official name is cool.  Everyone wants one, a living breathing machine that knows you better than you know yourself.  Oh, and it travels in time and space,  did I mention that? It’s a beautiful machine.  Neil Gaiman’s episode, “The Doctor’s Wife” we get such an amazing peek into the mind of the TARDIS and how much The Doctor truly loves her.   The bit about who stole who was brilliant banter.  The scene at the end where he really just wants to talk to her more, heartbreaking.  But to know she is looking out for him, so cool.

Of course I was. I wanted to see the universe, so I stole a Time Lord and I ran away. And you were the only one mad enough.

 

So, that’s me and my son’s top 3 reasons you should be watching Doctor Who now and always.  Returning tonight at 9:00 PM on BBC America with “Let’s Kill Hitler”, Doctor Who is ready to begin the end of season 6 and keep us in suspense of who really killed The Doctor in, “The Impossible Astronaut”.  For a recap of the first half of Season Six in just four minutes, check this out below.

 

GERONIMO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

