The Angels Take Manhattan… and My Heart

By Courtney Rowan

What an odd feeling to sob during Doctor Who, yet twice in the Moffat era this has happened. Once with Vincent and once when Amy and Rory left to live their lives.

There are SPOILERS from here on out, so either watch the episode or proceed with caution!

I laughed, I cried, I was angry and I was confused. I feel like if I don’t have 3 out of 4 of these emotions each week, I’m not really watching a Matt Smith Who episode.

After we got through that opening sequence, which I should point out seemed to be an awful waste of time seeing as it was the last of The Ponds; how dare you waste screen time, Moffat?! We opened to a pretty relaxing episode of Doctor Who – Amy, Rory and The Doctor, relaxing in Central Park reading papers and books and drinking coffee. We learn The Doctor really doesn’t like endings and that his companions getting older does bother him. What could go wrong? Rory goes to get more coffee and the confusion and heartbreak begins.

What book is the Doctor reading, though (and aloud most of the time, apparently)? Not just any paperback, although no surprise he liked the cover… he’s reading a book by Melody Malone – a private detective with ice in her heart, and a kiss on her lips. Yowza! What sets things off is while the Doctor is reading aloud he notices the author mentions a ‘skinny guy’ who has gone to get coffee for Amy and The Doctor. HUH?

Oh, this is Doctor Who with Stephen Moffat writing, save some ‘Huh?’s’ for later, dear.

Poor Rory is swept back to 1938 by the newest evil breed of angel – a cherub. A baby Weeping Angel. Seriously? I’m already deathly afraid of statues… But, to Rory’s surprise, his daughter is there to rescue him, Dr. River Song, Professor now, naturally.

The timey-wimey elements of this episode were done brilliantly. And I absolutely adored Rory, both old and young. The revelation that it was Rory in that room and the paradox needed to fix it made for a very compelling and dramatic scene for The Ponds. When Amy tells Rory that it is ‘together or not at all’, I was slayed. And adding the humor to Rory’s yet again, death scene, was clever. Finally, an admittance to the audience that Moff gets it.

I have to bring up the Statue of Liberty angel, because well, it was the Statue of Liberty. It was fun and I know why Moffat included her, but I just didn’t buy it and don’t think it worked the way he expected. Of course, that may be a very American thing to say. Perhaps, overseas they don’t realize that that Statue never has a moment when someone isn’t looking at her. Technically, in a city that never sleeps, there is no way in HELL she would be able to traipse around without being noticed. But, it was fun.

Husband – Run, Husband – Shut UP!

I absolutely loved the way River and The Doctor were together this episode. When he fixes his hair and checks his face in the mirror before going to see her, well, it may have been the cutest moment ever on Who. And River’s quote:

“When one’s in love with an ageless god who insists on the face of a 12-year-old, one does one’s best to hide the damage.”

I know their relationship is confusing and a bit of a pain point for some fans, but it’s really innocent and endearing. I am curious about the bit with him using his regenerative powers to heal her wrist, either he can do that all the time and just doesn’t unless he REALLY loves someone, or it is something Moffat is going to have to explain. Good on River for yelling at him for it. I’m filing this under ‘things that make me yell Moffat with my fist defiantly in the air’.

Now, for the sadness

So, the paradox trick works. And can I just say that the cinematography while Amy and Rory are falling was absolutely beautiful. That shot of Amy’s red hair streaming around above her while they fell from grace made a huge impression on me. That is the scene that I will go back to when I think of Amy and Rory.

The real sadness (and my inevitable sobs) begins when they are in the graveyard and I see Rory’s name on that gravestone. I realize that his death is fixed. It was there before. It is there again. And then, here comes that stupid left over Angel to send Rory to his eventual death. Oh, Amy! I’m sorry, Amelia. I’m so sorry. (nice Tennant nod there!).

Then this:

Amy: That gravestone, Rory’s, there’s room for one more name, isn’t there?
The Doctor: What are you talking about? Back away from the Angel. Come back to the TARDIS. We’ll figure something out.
Amy: The Angel – would it send me back to the same time, to him?
The Doctor: I don’t know. Nobody knows.
Amy: But it’s my best shot, yeah?
The Doctor: No!
River: Doctor, shut up! Yes! Yes, it is!
The Doctor: Amy…
Amy: Well, then. I just have to blink, right?
The Doctor: No!
Amy: It’ll be fine. I know it will. I’ll- I’ll- I’ll be with him, like I should be. Me and Rory together. Melody?
The Doctor: Stop it! Just- Just stop it!
Amy: You look after him, and you be a good girl, and you look after him.
The Doctor: You are creating fixed time. I will never be able to see you again!
Amy: I’ll be fine. I’ll be with him.
The Doctor: Amy, please, just come back into the TARDIS. Come along, Pond, please.
Amy: Raggedy man, goodbye!
The Doctor: No! [Sobbing]

And then this:

The Afterword.

“Tell her, this is the story of Amelia Pond. And this is how it ends.”

And then, we’re left with this… The Doctor and River.  Always, there will be The Doctor and River.

“Whenever and wherever you want.”

 

The Doctor will return Christmas Day. Here’s the teaser:

Follow I’m That Geek on Facebook and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

